External examining and Edutalk radio

This week I’ve been learning again, but then that is what I do, and enjoy doing, everyday. I’ve been doing work as an external examiner at Newcastle University and met some great people including lecturers, teachers and students. I’ve gained valuable insight into the systems operated by another education department but also how different staff operate. I was also lucky enough to be taken around several schools and this allowed me to make more interesting comparisons. I will take lots of ideas back to Dundee and I’ll assimilate much of what I’ve learnt into my practice. I’ll probably do this consciously but I’m sure I’ve also taken lots in subconsciously, a bit like Reber’s implicit learning (see earlier post).

I also got to learn about a great innovation which will help teachers evaluate their teaching, I was also really impressed to learn about the VEO connection software that can support observations and reflective practice. This fantastic new app was created by a lecturer Jon Haines ( follow him on twitter @jon_haines) and I have also just participated in a slightly older form of technology, a radio show, by David Noble and the Edutalk team. This was great fun and a chance to explain my interest in CPD/PL while asking for help and ideas from fellow educators. Even while being asked questions I think I was learning, and I hope I’ll get the chance to do this again, and of course you could give it a try (I promised to give it a plug) and talk about your areas of interest in education. So get in touch with the Edutalk folk and get involved.

Links

Edutalk interview: http://www.edutalk.info/show/radio-edutalk-09-05-2017-richard-holme-university-of-dundee-on-do-it-yourself-professional-development/

Pedagoo Tayside: http://www.pedagoo.org/pedagootayside/

University of Dundee Edushare blogs: https://blogs.glowscotland.org.uk/glowblogs/uodedushare/

TeachMeets: http://teachmeet.pbworks.com/w/page/19975349/FrontPage

Tim Jefferis PhD research Twitter and Leadership development: http://etheses.bham.ac.uk/6858/

Leave a Reply

